Taylor Swift releases new double album

The release included a surprise, adding 15 new songs to “The Tortured Poets Department.”

Taylor Swift surprised fans with the release of her 11th album, titled “The Tortured Poets Department,” which features a collection of her previous work refined with synth-pop anthems, breakup ballads and mature considerations.

In addition to the album release, Swift also dropped a surprise double album called “The Tortured Poets Department: The Anthology” just two hours later, featuring 15 additional songs.


The big picture: The new songs continue the sound and style of the first half of the album, with many of them reflecting the vibes of her previous albums “evermore” and “folklore,” with the help of collaborator Aaron Dessner.

  • Taylor Swift has a history of surprising her fans with album releases. After the release of “folklore” in 2020, she announced the arrival of “evermore” on the same day. She also released a “3am” edition of “Midnights” with seven additional tracks in 2022 shortly after the original release.

What they’re saying: “I’d written so much tortured poetry in the past 2 years and wanted to share it all with you, so here’s the second installment,” Swift wrote on Instagram. “And now the story isn’t mine anymore… it’s all yours.”

Related Posts