Justin Rice lone Bulldog to make preseason All-MW team

The Mountain West’s preseason honors continued Wednesday as the conference revealed the preseason All-Mountain West team. 

Coming off a rough 4-8 2019 season, Bulldogs linebacker Justin Rice was the only Fresno State player to make the team heading into a 2020 season that has not yet been confirmed will take place amid the coronavirus pandemic. 


Rice was one of the best defensive players in the Mountain West last season, finishing third in the conference with 112 tackles en route to a selection to the all-conference team. 

He is the only linebacker returning from the 2019 All-Mountain West team, which included former Bulldog Mykal Walker, who was drafted by the Atlanta Falcons. 

In addition to the conference honors, Rice has received national recognition as well this offseason, being named to the Bednarik Award watch list and the Bronko Nagurski Trophy watch list, both of which name the defensive player of the year at the end of the season. 

Rice was one of three unanimous selections to the preseason All-Mountain West team, along with Boise State linebacker Riley Whimpey and Colorado State wide receiver Warren Jackson. 

Boise State dominated the list with eight nominees, and Colorado State and San Diego State were next with four apiece. 


QB Hank Bachmeier So. Boise State

WR Khalil Shakir Jr. Boise State

WR Warren Jackson* Sr. Colorado State

WR Tre Walker* Sr. San Jose State

RB Charles Williams* Sr. UNLV

RB Xazavian Valladay* Jr. Wyoming

OL Parker Ferguson Sr. Air Force

OL Nolan Laufenberg* Sr. Air Force

OL John Ojukwu Jr. Boise State

OL Ilm Manning** Jr. Hawaii

OL Keegan Cryder** Jr. Wyoming

TE Trey McBride* Jr. Colorado State


DL Scale Igiehon Jr. Boise State

DL Dom Peterson* Jr. Nevada

DL Cameron Thomas* So. San Diego State

DL Keshawn Banks** Jr. San Diego State

LB Demonte Meeks** Sr. Air Force

LB Riley Whimpey** So. Boise State

LB Dequan Jackson So. Boise State

LB Justin Rice* Sr. Fresno State

DB Kekaula Kaniho* Sr. Boise State

DB Avery Williams Sr. Boise State

DB Darren Hall Jr. San Diego State

DB Tariq Thompson** Sr. San Diego State


P Ryan Stonehouse* Sr. Colorado State

PK Brandon Talton** So. Nevada

KR Savon Scarver* Sr. Utah State

PR Avery Williams* Sr. Boise State

* member of the 2019 All-Mountain West first team

** member of the 2019 All-Mountain West second team

Photo: Fresno State Athletics

Related Posts