Fresno State Bulldogs

Walker added to Nagurski Trophy watch list

The preseason accolades continue to roll for Bulldogs linebacker Mykal Walker.

This time it’s for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, which honors the national defensive player of the year. The Football Writers Association of America presents the award. 

Walker was named an All-Mountain West first team selection last year at defensive end, and he transitioned to middle linebacker in the offseason. 

He’s already been named to two watchlists this preseason: the Butkus Award and the Bednarik Award. 

Tuesday, Walker was also named to the Preseason All-Mountain West Team. 

There are 92 defensive players on the watch list, including 36 linebackers. In total, 65 schools are represented. 

Three other defensive standouts from the Mountain West join Walker on the list: San Diego State linebacker Kyahva Tezino, Boise State defensive end Curtis Weaver and Utah State linebacker David Woodward. 

The Nagurski Trophy is named after Bronislaw “Bronko” Nagurski. Nagurski was a charter member of the College Football Hall of Fame and the Pro Football Hall of Fame. He played for the University of Minnesota and went on to play for the Chicago Bears in the 1930s. 

The award will be presented on Dec. 9 at the 25th Annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet in Charlotte, North Carolina. 

Daniel Gligich is a reporter for The San Joaquin Valley Sun, focusing on Fresno State Athletics and the southern San Joaquin Valley. Email him at