AP names DeBoer college football coach of the year

DeBoer led Washington to an undefeated season and has a chance to cap it off with a National Championship.

Former Fresno State Head Football Coach Kalen DeBoer was named the Associated Press coach of the year on Tuesday. 

DeBoer has led Washington to the College Football Playoff in just his second year with the program. 


The big picture: After leaving Fresno State after just two seasons, DeBoer took over a Washington team that had gone 4-8 in 2021. 

  • Since then DeBoer has led the huskies to a 23-2 record, including going 13-0 this year and claiming the Pac-12 Championship over rival Oregon. 
  • DeBoer has led the Huskies to the No. 2 seed in the Playoff. Washington will face Texas in the Sugar Bowl on New Year’s Day in one of the Playoff semifinals. A win against the Longhorns would put DeBoer in position to play for the National Championship against either Michigan or Alabama. 

Voting breakdown: DeBoer received 30 of 52 first-place votes, good for 113 points overall in the poll conducted by Associated Press Top 25 voters. 

  • Florida State Head Coach Mike Norvell, who led the Seminoles to a 13-0 record and ACC Championship – but was snubbed from the Playoff – placed second with 57 points. 
  • Missouri Head Coach Eli Drinkwitz – who has former Fresno State Offensive Coordinator Kirby Moore on staff – placed third with 38 points. 
  • Arizona Head Coach Jeff Fisch placed fourth and was the only other coach to receive first-place votes. 

What they’re saying: “It’s all about the people around me. This is a team award,” DeBoer told the AP. “When you win, I tell the players this, you win football games, you’re going to get recognized and more awards are going to get shared. I’m fortunate enough to kind of be the figurehead of our team and receive these cool awards. Just really blessed.”

Related Posts