Preseason All-MW team includes four Bulldogs

Fresno State is expected to have the top quarterback in the Mountain West this season.

Four Bulldogs were named to the 2024 preseason All-Mountain West team on Wednesday. 

It is the highest number of selections for Fresno State since 2022. 


The big picture: Quarterback Mikey Keene is expected to be the best signal caller in the league as he enters his second season as a Bulldog. 

  • He is joined on the preseason All-Mountain West team by running back Malik Sherrod, offensive lineman Mose Vavao and defensive lineman Devo Bridges. 

Flashback: Keene wrapped up his first season at Fresno State last year by being named as an All-MW honorable mention selection. 

  • He threw for 2,976 yards and 24 touchdowns while leading the conference with a 67.06 completion percentage. 
  • Sherrod racked up 966 yards on the ground to go along with 9 rushing touchdowns last year as he was also named as an All-Mountain West honorable mention. 
  • Vavao made the All-Mountain West second team last year as he started every game at right guard. 
  • Bridges joined Vavao on the second team after having 8 tackles for loss, 3.5 sacks, 1 interception, 8 quarterback hurries and 1 pass breakup. 



QB    Mikey Keene                    Jr.    Fresno State

WR   Tory Horton                   Gr.    Colorado State

WR   Ricky White III               Sr.    UNLV

WR   Jalen Royals                  Sr.    Utah State

RB    Ashton Jeanty               Jr.    Boise State

RB    Malik Sherrod                  Sr.    Fresno State

OL    Kage Casey                  So.   Boise State

OL    Jacob Gardner              Gr.    Colorado State

OL    Mose Vavao                  Sr.    Fresno State

OL    Tiger Shanks                  Sr.    UNLV

OL    Jack Walsh                      Jr.    Wyoming

TE    John Michael Gyllenborg  Jr.    Wyoming


DL    Ahmed Hassanein          Sr.    Boise State

DL    Devo Bridges                Sr.    Fresno State

DL    Soane Toia                   Sr.    San José State

DL    Jordan Bertagnole        Gr.    Wyoming

LB    Andrew Simpson          Jr.    Boise State

LB    Chase Wilson               Sr.    Colorado State

LB    Jordan Pollard                 Jr.    San José State

LB    Jackson Woodard           Sr.    UNLV

DB    A’Marion McCoy               Sr.    Boise State

DB    Jack Howell                   Sr.    Colorado State

DB    Cameron Oliver            Sr.    UNLV

DB    Ike Larsen                               Jr.    Utah State


P      James Ferguson-Reynolds     Jr.    Boise State

PK    Jonah Dalmas             Gr.    Boise State

PR    Jacob De Jesus             Sr.    UNLV

KR    Jacob De Jesus              Sr.    UNLV

Offensive Player of the Year: Ashton Jeanty, Jr., RB, Boise State

Co-Defensive Player of the Year: Ahmed Hassanein, Sr., DL, Boise State

Co-Defensive Player of the Year: Jackson Woodard, Sr., LB, UNLV

Special Teams Player of the Year: Jacob De Jesus, Sr., PR/KR, UNLV

Related Posts